Home > Uncategorized > The Blackest Tuesday

The Blackest Tuesday

I would say the games journalism industry has lost one of it’s own but Ryan Davis was far more than just a “guy who wrote about video games”. As the voice that kept me company when I cooked, drove or even during my breaks at work, Ryan Davis was an example for what a modern human being should strive to be. As a man who perceived to know just about everything on every subject ranging from food to number stations, I was always baffled by the knowledge and expertise that he seemed to exude with every single podcast I listened to. He was an everyman and the first person you cling to on the podcast because of his kind and humorous nature.

Having never met him myself, I feel like I knew him, watching and listening to him for the past 5 years. I always imagined him taking me in as one of his own if I ever mustered the courage to finally go up and say hi after seeing him at a trade show. Ryan had a big heart and such an explosive personality, you couldn’t help but pay attention.

Ryan, you always made me laugh and now you’ve made me cry. You may never have known who I was but you were a big part of my life. I will miss you more than you will ever know and I offer your family and friends my deepest regrets and condolences. The Bombcast will never be the same without you. Rest in peace.

RIP Ryan Davis June 4th 1979 – July 3rd 2013

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment